# Perpetual position holding cost calculator

What holding a perpetual for N days at size S costs on six venues — two trading fees, the front end's builder fee, and funding at the rate each schedule states.

*https://cryptomarkets.tools/calculators/perpetual-holding-cost · next to Crypto Trading Terminals*

**Answer:** Enter the position's notional size, the days you hold it, the side, whether each leg fills as maker or taker, and the software that sends the orders. The calculator prices the round trip on Binance, Bybit, OKX, Hyperliquid, dYdX and Aster from each venue's entry-tier fee schedule, adds a terminal's or library's builder fee where its card documents one, and charges funding at the resting rate each venue's own formula states, or at a rate you enter.

The calculator itself is interactive at https://cryptomarkets.tools/calculators/perpetual-holding-cost. These are the figures it multiplies, each with the document it was read from:

## Rates

| Rate | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Binance, product and tier | USDⓈ-M perpetuals; Regular user (VIP 0), fees paid in USDT |
| Binance, maker / taker | 0.02% / 0.05% of notional per fill |
| Binance, fee source | [Binance Futures fee structure and fee calculations](https://www.binance.com/en/support/faq/binance-futures-fee-structure-fee-calculations-360033544231), dated 2026-05-01, read 2026-10-07 |
| Binance, resting funding | 0.03% a day — paid by longs to shorts while the premium is inside the clamp band |
| Binance, settlement interval | every 8 hours |
| Binance, funding charged on | size × mark price |
| Binance, funding source | [Introduction to Binance Futures Funding Rates](https://www.binance.com/en/support/faq/introduction-to-binance-futures-funding-rates-360033525031), dated 2026-03-06, read 2026-10-07 |
| Bybit, product and tier | Perpetual and futures contracts; VIP 0 (non-VIP) |
| Bybit, maker / taker | 0.02% / 0.055% of notional per fill |
| Bybit, fee source | [Bybit Trading Fee Structure](https://www.bybit.com/en/help-center/article/Trading-Fee-Structure), dated 2026-09-02, read 2026-10-07 |
| Bybit, resting funding | 0.03% a day — paid by longs to shorts while the premium is inside the clamp band |
| Bybit, settlement interval | not stated — the page uses an 8-hour interval as an example and names no default; it varies by contract |
| Bybit, funding charged on | not stated — the page says the rate is applied to "position value" without naming the price |
| Bybit, funding source | [Introduction to Funding Rate](https://www.bybit.com/en/help-center/article/Introduction-to-Funding-Rate), dated 2026-05-22, read 2026-10-07 |
| OKX, product and tier | USDT-margined perpetual swaps; Lv1 (regular user) |
| OKX, maker / taker | 0.02% / 0.05% of notional per fill |
| OKX, fee source | [How are futures trading fees calculated on OKX?](https://www.okx.com/en-us/help/how-to-calculate-the-contract-transaction-fee), dated 2026-08-26, read 2026-10-07 |
| OKX, resting funding | 0.03% a day — paid by longs to shorts while the premium is inside the clamp band |
| OKX, settlement interval | every 8 hours |
| OKX, funding charged on | size × mark price |
| OKX, funding source | [Perpetual futures funding fee mechanism](https://www.okx.com/en-us/help/iv-introduction-to-perpetual-swap-funding-fee), dated 2026-08-27, read 2026-10-07 |
| Hyperliquid, product and tier | Perpetuals; Tier 0, no staking discount |
| Hyperliquid, maker / taker | 0.015% / 0.045% of notional per fill |
| Hyperliquid, fee source | [Fees](https://hyperliquid.gitbook.io/hyperliquid-docs/trading/fees), read 2026-10-07 |
| Hyperliquid, resting funding | 0.03% a day — paid by longs to shorts while the premium is inside the clamp band |
| Hyperliquid, settlement interval | every 1 hour |
| Hyperliquid, funding charged on | size × oracle price |
| Hyperliquid, funding source | [Funding](https://hyperliquid.gitbook.io/hyperliquid-docs/trading/funding), read 2026-10-07 |
| dYdX, product and tier | Perpetuals, cross markets; Tier 1 (under $1M 30-day volume), no staking discount |
| dYdX, maker / taker | 0.01% / 0.05% of notional per fill |
| dYdX, fee source | [Rewards, Fees and Parameters](https://docs.dydx.xyz/concepts/trading/rewards), read 2026-10-07 |
| dYdX, resting funding | 0% a day — premium / 8 plus an interest component of 0% on cross markets, so zero when the premium is zero |
| dYdX, settlement interval | every 1 hour |
| dYdX, funding charged on | not stated — the funding page describes the rate, not the price the payment is multiplied by |
| dYdX, funding source | [Funding](https://docs.dydx.xyz/concepts/trading/funding), read 2026-10-07 |
| Aster, product and tier | Perpetuals, Crypto — General pairs; Base tier, no VIP discount |
| Aster, maker / taker | 0% / 0.04% of notional per fill |
| Aster, fee source | [Fees](https://docs.asterdex.com/trading/perpetuals/fees-and-specs/fees), read 2026-10-07 |
| Aster, resting funding | 0.03% a day — paid by longs to shorts while the premium is inside the clamp band |
| Aster, settlement interval | every 8 hours |
| Aster, funding charged on | size × mark price |
| Aster, funding source | [Funding Rate](https://docs.asterdex.com/trading/perpetuals/fees-and-specs/funding-rate), read 2026-10-07 |
| Front end, Velo, Insilico Terminal or Tealstreet | 0.01% per fill on Hyperliquid, on top of the venue fee (Velo card, verified 2026-09-19; Insilico Terminal card, verified 2026-09-19; Tealstreet card, verified 2026-09-19) |
| Front end, CCXT with its default builder fee | 0.01% per fill on Hyperliquid and Aster, on top of the venue fee (CCXT card, verified 2026-09-19) |
| Front end, WunderTrading on Hyperliquid | 0.035% per fill on Hyperliquid, on top of the venue fee (WunderTrading card, verified 2026-10-04) |
| Assumption, notional | held at the opening value for the whole holding period |
| Assumption, custom funding | one per-8-hour rate applied to every venue, times three for a day |

## What it computes

One position, priced six ways. You give it the five things you would know before opening any
venue's fee page: how big the position is in notional terms, how many days you will hold it, which
side, whether the opening and closing fills each rest on the book or cross it, and what software
sends the orders. Every venue is priced from the same position, at its entry tier, so the numbers
compare.

**Trading fees.** The opening and closing fills are each charged at the venue's maker or
[taker fee](https://cryptomarkets.tools/glossary/taker-fee) on the position's notional. Which one applies is what the fill
did, not what the order was called: a limit order priced through the book pays taker.

**The front end's fee.** Some software that sends the orders adds a
[builder fee](https://cryptomarkets.tools/glossary/builder-fee) to each fill, on top of the venue's. It is charged only where
the tool's card says it applies — on Hyperliquid for [Velo](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/velo),
[Insilico Terminal](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/insilico-terminal), [Tealstreet](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/tealstreet) and
[WunderTrading](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/wundertrading), and on Hyperliquid and Aster for [CCXT](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/ccxt) with its
default left on. On every other venue the same choice costs nothing extra, which is why picking a
terminal changes one row and not six.

**Funding.** The [funding rate](https://cryptomarkets.tools/glossary/funding-rate) is paid between longs and shorts, not to
the venue, and it floats. The one funding figure a schedule states is its interest component — the
rate the formula returns while the premium of the perpetual over its index sits inside a clamp
band. That is the default here, called the resting rate. A long pays it; a short receives it, which
shows as a negative number. Switch to your own rate to price a week that is not calm: enter it per
eight hours, and the same figure is applied to every venue.

Under the total sits one more number: how many days of holding it takes before funding at that
rate has cost as much as the round trip in fees. Below it, the fees are the larger cost of the
position; above it, the funding is.

## Where the numbers come from

Every venue figure was read on 7 October 2026 from the venue's own pages, and the table both this
form and the page's Markdown twin read carries each document and, where the page prints one, its
date. The fee schedules are the entry tiers: regular user on [Binance](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/binance-api), VIP 0
on [Bybit](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/bybit-api), Lv1 on [OKX](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/okx-api), tier 0 on
[Hyperliquid](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/hyperliquid-python-sdk), tier 1 on [dYdX](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/dydx-v4-clients) and the base
tier on [Aster](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/aster-api). Bybit published a derivatives fee update on 24 August 2026 that
changed its Pro and market-maker schedules; the announcement states that VIP retail pricing is
unchanged, and the VIP 0 row here was read from the schedule as it stood after it.

Binance's own schedule page renders no rows outside a signed-in browser. Its maker and taker
figures are the ones its fee-calculation article gives for a regular user, in a worked example
dated 1 May 2026.

The resting rates come from each venue's funding page. Binance, Bybit, OKX, Hyperliquid and Aster
state the same interest component in different ways — 0.03% a day, or 0.01% per eight-hour
interval with the formula scaled to shorter ones — which is 0.03% a day in all five. dYdX states 0%
on cross markets and 0.125 basis points an hour on isolated ones; the row here is a cross market.

The builder fees come from the tools' cards, each verified on the date the form prints beside it.

## What it leaves out

**Real funding.** The resting rate is the floor of an ordinary day, not a forecast. Funding moves
with the premium every interval, can turn negative, and in a dislocation runs at many times the
resting figure — up to caps that each venue sets per contract and, on Hyperliquid, 4% an hour.
None of that is modelled. To price a past week, take the settled rates from the venue's history
endpoint, convert them to a per-eight-hour figure, and enter their average; the
[how-to on funding and open interest](https://cryptomarkets.tools/how-to/get-funding-and-open-interest) covers where they are.

**One rate for every venue.** In custom mode the same per-eight-hour rate is applied everywhere.
In a real week each venue's funding differs, and the differences are often the reason to compare
them at all.

**Price movement.** The notional is held at its opening value. The venues multiply size by a
moving price at every settlement and at the closing fill — the [mark price](https://cryptomarkets.tools/glossary/mark-price)
on Binance, OKX and Aster, the spot oracle price on Hyperliquid, and a basis neither Bybit's nor
dYdX's funding page names. A position that doubles in value pays twice the funding by the end.

**Settlement timing.** Funding is charged per whole day held. A position opened just after a
settlement and closed just before one pays one interval fewer than the day count suggests, and on
OKX a position closed before the funding assessment pays nothing for that interval. Binance moves a
symbol to hourly settlement for the next cycle when its rate hits the cap or floor, which changes
when funding is paid but not the daily interest in the formula. Bybit's interval varies by
contract and the page states no default, so its settlement count is shown as not stated.

**Every discount and every other tier.** Paying fees in BNB takes 10% off on Binance; staking HYPE
on Hyperliquid or DYDX on dYdX takes a discount there; volume tiers lower the rate on all six. None
is applied. Bybit's schedule says actual rates may vary by region, and OKX
publishes separate frameworks for some jurisdictions; the rows here are the ones each venue's
general page shows.

**Contracts outside the main schedule.** Hyperliquid's HIP-3 markets are priced by their deployer,
Aster's Group B, RWA and USD1 contracts have their own schedules, dYdX isolated markets carry a
non-zero interest component, and Bybit and Aster set the interest component to zero on a few
named pairs. The rows are the venues' main crypto perpetuals.

**Everything that is not a fee.** Spread, slippage and the price impact of the fills are not
modelled, nor are liquidation, borrowing on margin, gas or bridging to fund a decentralised
venue's account, or a referral discount. A tool whose card documents no builder fee is priced as
adding nothing, which is what its card says and no more than that.

## Tools this bears on

- [Binance Market Data API](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/binance-api.md) — One venue's own tape — prices, books, trades and funding, free and unkeyed.
- [Bybit Market Data API](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/bybit-api.md) — Venue-direct spot, perps and options data with no key — if your IP is not in the US.
- [OKX Market Data API](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/okx-api.md) — Public v5 endpoints for spot, swaps, futures and options — open, and tightly licensed.
- [Hyperliquid Python SDK](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/hyperliquid-python-sdk.md) — The official Python client for signing and sending orders on one perp DEX.
- [dYdX v4 Clients](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/dydx-v4-clients.md) — Four language clients for one perp DEX, under a licence that is not the one on the badge.
- [Aster Market Data API](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/aster-api.md) — A Binance-shaped API over a perp DEX — keyless, limited per IP, stock perps included.
- [Velo](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/velo.md) — Derivatives terminal with order entry on Bybit and Hyperliquid, and the API behind it.
- [Insilico Terminal](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/insilico-terminal.md) — Free browser OEMS with institutional order types and a trading command line.
- [Tealstreet](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/tealstreet.md) — One free front-end over twenty-odd venues, with your keys never leaving your machine.
- [WunderTrading](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/wundertrading.md) — TradingView-alert execution, grid and DCA bots, and a REST API and MCP server on top.
- [CCXT](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/ccxt.md) — One MIT client for 104 crypto exchanges, 76 of them over websocket.

## FAQ

### What does it cost to hold a perpetual position for a week?

At the entry tier, taking liquidity both ways, a 10,000-dollar long held seven days costs between 29 and 32 dollars on Binance, Bybit, OKX, Hyperliquid and Aster at each venue's resting funding rate, and 10 dollars on a dYdX cross market, where the stated interest component is zero. Roughly two thirds of the larger figures is funding, not fees.

### What is the resting funding rate?

The rate a venue's own formula returns while the premium of the perpetual over its index stays inside the clamp band: the interest component alone. Binance, Bybit, OKX, Hyperliquid and Aster each state it as 0.01% per eight hours, 0.03% a day, paid by longs to shorts. It is what calm markets cost, not what any given week will cost.

### Does a builder fee apply on every venue a terminal supports?

No, only where the card documents one. Velo, Insilico Terminal and Tealstreet charge one basis point per fill on Hyperliquid, and their cards document no such fee elsewhere; CCXT adds one basis point by default on seven venues, Hyperliquid and Aster among the six here; WunderTrading charges 0.035% on Hyperliquid in place of a subscription.

## Sources

1. [Binance Futures fee structure and fee calculations](https://www.binance.com/en/support/faq/binance-futures-fee-structure-fee-calculations-360033544231) — Binance, 2026-05-01
2. [Introduction to Binance Futures Funding Rates](https://www.binance.com/en/support/faq/introduction-to-binance-futures-funding-rates-360033525031) — Binance, 2026-03-06
3. [Bybit Trading Fee Structure](https://www.bybit.com/en/help-center/article/Trading-Fee-Structure) — Bybit, 2026-09-02
4. [Lower fees, simpler structure: Bybit derivatives fee update](https://announcements.bybit.com/en/article/lower-fees-simpler-structure-bybit-derivatives-fee-update--art70d07aff01f2/) — Bybit, 2026-08-24
5. [Introduction to Funding Rate](https://www.bybit.com/en/help-center/article/Introduction-to-Funding-Rate) — Bybit, 2026-05-22
6. [How are futures trading fees calculated on OKX?](https://www.okx.com/en-us/help/how-to-calculate-the-contract-transaction-fee) — OKX, 2026-08-26
7. [Perpetual futures funding fee mechanism](https://www.okx.com/en-us/help/iv-introduction-to-perpetual-swap-funding-fee) — OKX, 2026-08-27
8. [Hyperliquid documentation — Fees](https://hyperliquid.gitbook.io/hyperliquid-docs/trading/fees) — Hyperliquid, read 2026-10-07
9. [Hyperliquid documentation — Funding](https://hyperliquid.gitbook.io/hyperliquid-docs/trading/funding) — Hyperliquid, read 2026-10-07
10. [Rewards, Fees and Parameters](https://docs.dydx.xyz/concepts/trading/rewards) — dYdX, read 2026-10-07
11. [Funding](https://docs.dydx.xyz/concepts/trading/funding) — dYdX, read 2026-10-07
12. [Aster docs — Fees](https://docs.asterdex.com/trading/perpetuals/fees-and-specs/fees) — Aster, read 2026-10-07
13. [Aster docs — Funding Rate](https://docs.asterdex.com/trading/perpetuals/fees-and-specs/funding-rate) — Aster, read 2026-10-07

*Last updated 2026-10-07. Figures re-read from the documents on that date; corrected in place.*
