# Coin Metrics

Institutional reference rates, exchange market data and network metrics behind one API.

*https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/coin-metrics · Crypto Market Data APIs*

## Facts

### At a glance

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Vendor | Talos |
| Category | Crypto Market Data APIs |
| Job | reference |
| Website | https://www.talos.com/our-solutions/data/overview |
| Pricing model | subscription |
| Free tier | true |
| Open source | false |
| Licence | none |
| Self-hosted | false |
| KYC required | false |
| Tested hands-on | false |
| Last updated | 2026-09-21 |

### Pricing

| Tier | USD | Period |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Community | 0 USD | — |
| Pro | on request | — |

### Coverage

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Asset classes | spot, perpetuals, futures, options, defi, stablecoins, indices |
| Chains | bitcoin, ethereum, solana, base, multi |
| Venues | cex, dex, derivatives |
| Data latency | realtime |
| Platforms | web, library |
| AI features | none |

### Interfaces

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| API | true |
| Webhooks | false |
| Scripting | none |
| MCP server | false |
| Export | csv, json, parquet, api |

### Capabilities

Yes: charting, onchain_data, wallet_tracking, derivatives_analytics

No: screening, backtesting, automation, live_trading, paper_trading, portfolio_tracking, exchange_import, tax_reporting, alerts, news

*Verified: pricing 2026-09-19; coverage 2026-09-19.*

## What it is

Coin Metrics sells institutional crypto data through one REST API and one websocket: exchange
market data (trades, candles, quotes, order books), reference rates and CMBI indexes, `datonomy`
asset classification, network metrics computed off the chains, and Atlas — a blockchain explorer
exposed as endpoints rather than as a website. Coin Metrics Studio puts charts and dashboards over
the same data for people who would rather not write the query.

Talos bought the company in 2025 and has since folded it into its own data line. The old domain
redirects to Talos, the product sits in the Talos nav as "Coin Metrics Products", and the index
methodology consultations are now published in Talos's name. The docs and the API hostname are
unchanged, so day to day you are still writing against `api.coinmetrics.io` — but support went
with the rest: both routes the product page offers are a Talos mailbox and a Talos service desk.

The buyer is an institution wiring a reference price, a benchmark or a research pipeline into
something else. It is not a retail chart site, and there is nothing here you sign up for with a
card.

## Pricing

There is no published price. The pricing URL redirects to the product overview, whose only call to
action is a demo request, so every Pro figure is quoted per contract and cannot be compared
against a competitor's published tier.

What is public is the rate-limit table in the API docs, which is the closest thing to a plan
sheet. Community allows 10 requests per 6 seconds per IP address at a reduced download speed, with
websockets marked N/A. Trial allows 10 requests per 6 seconds per API key at full speed with up to
200 websocket connections; how long a trial lasts is not stated anywhere. Default (PRO) and
Download (PRO) both allow 6,000 requests per 20 seconds per key and differ only in download speed.

The community endpoint needs no key and no account, and the docs do name the licence the data
comes under, though only in the link rather than in the sentence: it points at CC BY-NC 4.0.
Non-commercial is the operative half — attribution plus no commercial use puts the free tier out
of bounds for anything you sell.

## Data & coverage

Reference data lists 68 exchanges. That includes DEXes (Uniswap v1 to v4 across Ethereum, Base,
Arbitrum and Optimism, Curve, Balancer v2, SushiSwap, Aerodrome, Trader Joe, Velodrome),
derivatives venues (CME, Deribit, dYdX, Hyperliquid, BitMEX, Coinbase Derivatives, GFO-X),
prediction markets (Kalshi, Polymarket)
and venues that no longer exist but whose tape is kept for history (Mt. Gox, FTX, Bittrex, Liquid,
Gatecoin). Derivatives go past price into funding rates and predicted funding, open interest,
liquidations, contract prices, implied volatility and greeks.

Atlas covers 358 assets and is addressed the way a chain is, not the way a metrics feed is: blocks,
transactions, accounts, sub-accounts, balance updates, and balance updates for a single account,
with asynchronous jobs for the large pulls. Network metrics on the free tier confirm Bitcoin and
Ethereum are read from chain state; Solana's series exist but are Pro-gated, and Base shows up
through both Atlas tokens and the Base DEX venues.

Since 8 September 2026 there is a second delivery path that is not the API at all: ten datasets
published daily as Apache Parquet in Amazon S3 and as queryable tables in Snowflake — market
trades, candles, quotes, order-book snapshots and updates, reference rates and the reference-data
catalogs. Coverage there is narrower than the API's: 48 exchanges for trades and candles, 29 for
quotes and order-book snapshots, 5 for order-book updates. You read it with the AWS CLI, DuckDB,
Spark or plain SQL.

The REST API itself returns `json`, `json_stream` or `csv`. Parquet exists only on the cloud
delivery path.

## Integrations

There is an official Python client, `coinmetrics-api-client`, last published on 2 September 2026,
and an R client whose last commit on `master` was in December 2023. The websocket API is Pro-only.
There is no MCP server and no webhook delivery — if you want a push, you hold a websocket open,
and that means a Pro key.

## Limitations

The free tier has no market data in it. Not a reduced set, not a delayed set: ask for any market,
spot or derivative, and the API answers `Requested markets are not available with supplied
credentials`. What "free Coin Metrics" means in practice is 32 daily asset metrics and reference
rates — network activity, supply, exchange flows, hash rate, market cap — and nothing an exchange
reported. If you came for a free trade tape, this is the wrong provider.

Free frequency is daily. Asking for `PriceUSD` at `1h` is refused outright, and the streaming
endpoint is refused too. The one exception is odd and worth knowing: the reference rate is served
at 1-second frequency on the community tier, but live only — every historical window returns an
empty array, including one a week old. You can read the current second for free and you cannot
read yesterday's.

The community catalogue counts 6,252 assets, which is a catalogue count and not a promise of
coverage: most of those assets carry a price and little else, and the deeper metric sets belong to
a much shorter list. Solana's active-address series is the clean example — it exists, it is simply
not yours without a contract.

Pricing itself is a limitation. With no published figure you cannot budget, cannot compare and
cannot tell whether you are being quoted the same number as the desk next door, and the trial's
length is not stated either. Budget for a procurement cycle, not an afternoon.

## Alternatives

For reference rates and institutional coverage the field is small and none of it is self-serve.
[Kaiko](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/kaiko) sells tick history back to 2010 the same way — a quote, a contract, and
nothing you can buy with a card — and [Amberdata](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/amberdata) is the one that breaks that
pattern, with a 600-dollar single-exchange plan you can put on a card and an 18-month cap on
order-book history.

If what you need is a price rather than a benchmark, the self-serve half of the category is much
cheaper and says what it costs: [CoinAPI](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/coinapi) meters 400-plus venues in credits,
[CoinGecko API](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/coingecko-api) starts at 35 dollars, and neither is pretending to be a
reference rate.

For network metrics without the market-data half, [Glassnode](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/glassnode),
[CryptoQuant](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/cryptoquant) and [Santiment](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/santiment) publish their prices, which is
the whole difference in how you plan for them.

## FAQ

### Is Coin Metrics still Coin Metrics after the Talos acquisition?

The product keeps the name, the docs and the API host. Everything else has moved — coinmetrics.io redirects to the Talos site, the legal pages are Talos's own and signed Talos Global, Inc., support goes to a Talos mailbox and a Talos service desk, and CMBI methodology consultations are announced in Talos's name. This card files it under Talos for that reason.

### What can you pull without paying or signing up?

Thirty-two asset metrics across the community catalogue's 6,252 assets, at daily frequency, with Bitcoin's dollar price going back to 18 July 2010. The endpoint needs no API key. What you cannot pull is anything an exchange reported — trades, candles, quotes and order books are all refused on the community tier.

### Does Coin Metrics have an MCP server?

Not one that reaches the data. Nothing MCP is documented or advertised, and the obvious endpoint on the API host returns a 404. The docs site does answer on one, but it is the generic documentation-search server its GitBook host gives every site — it searches the manual, it cannot pull a metric. The supported ways in are REST, a Pro-only websocket, the Python and R clients, and the S3/Snowflake cloud delivery.

## Also from Talos

- [Talos](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/talos.md)

## Also worth comparing

- [CoinGecko API](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/coingecko-api.md) — Prices, market data and onchain DEX data for 18,000+ coins, via REST, websocket or MCP.
- [CoinMarketCap API](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/coinmarketcap-api.md) — Prices, rankings, DEX and derivatives data billed by data points returned, not by call.
- [Messari](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/messari.md) — Asset profiles, 500-source news and analyst-verified event monitoring, with an API.
- [Amberdata Market Data API](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/amberdata.md) — Spot, futures and options data — and one exchange's feed you can buy with a card.
- [CoinDesk Data API](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/coindesk-data.md) — The old CryptoCompare API, renamed, re-hosted and no longer free.
- [CoinGlass API](https://cryptomarkets.tools/tools/coinglass.md) — Funding, open interest, liquidations and L2/L3 order books across thirty futures venues.

## Named as a replacement for

- [CryptoCompare](https://cryptomarkets.tools/alternatives/cryptocompare.md)
- [IntoTheBlock](https://cryptomarkets.tools/alternatives/intotheblock.md)
- [Nomics](https://cryptomarkets.tools/alternatives/nomics.md)
