ChartIQ

Heavyweight broker charting SDK, domain-locked, priced by an account manager.

Last updated

From
Free tier
No
Self-hosted
Yes
Platforms
Library, Ios, Android

What it is

The heavy end of embeddable charting — the kind of library that goes into a broker front end or a professional terminal, where the chart is the product rather than a panel in it.

The size of it is best read from the API index. Version 10.5.0 exposes 48 distinct drawing tool classes, including the ones smaller libraries never reach — Elliott wave, Gann fan, Gartley, pitchfork, speed arcs and lines, Tirone levels, volume profile, five kinds of Fibonacci. The built-in studies reference guide lists 124 entries, from Accumulation/Distribution to ZigZag. On top of that sit named subsystems that are products in themselves: ScriptIQ, a scripting language for writing studies without touching the library's source; SignalIQ for study-driven chart markers; Active Trader with a market-depth renderer and an order-book component; Trade From Chart; Term Structures for curve and cross-section work; Options Analysis; and a Reference Data layer for earnings, financials and corporate events.

Liveness, in dates. Version 10.5.0 carries a release date of 9 September 2026 on its own changelog page, and the documentation holds a continuous run of changelogs and step-by-step upgrade notes from 10.0.0 forward. The 10.5.0 notes are mostly AI work — a Chart Explainer plugin that adds and edits drawings from conversational commands, and a refactored AI proxy server with pluggable OpenAI, Anthropic and FinTech Studios providers — alongside Workspaces for saving complete chart configurations.

The company was bought and the website went with it. S&P Global announced the acquisition on 5 January 2023; it was signed on 23 December 2022 and closed on 1 January 2023, and ChartIQ became part of S&P Global Market Intelligence, having previously been part of Cosaic. Financial terms were not disclosed. The practical consequence for anyone researching it today is that chartiq.com is a redirect into a page that returns 403, and the documentation host is the only vendor address that answers.

Pricing

Not published. The documentation's instruction is to contact your account manager or email support; the release notes gate a feature — the Linton Indicators — behind the same sentence; and the public npm package chartiq is a 638-byte README that says the library is not in it and to contact your account manager. The fourth surface, the S&P Global solutions page, could not be read at all. That is the extent of the search behind the word "unpublished" here.

What the docs do reveal is the shape of the commercial arrangement, which is more useful than a number would be. The keyfile shipped with each package records Client name, Package Type (the documented example value is "Technical Analysis"), License type (example "annual"), Expiration date, Domain lock and iFrame lock. So this is not one SKU with tiers — it is a per-customer entitlement set, and the plug-ins are separately locked files. A trial licence exists and is expiry-locked only, running "for a short time on any web view or browser"; the length is not stated anywhere public.

Data & coverage

No data. The library integrates three ways — a static array at chart creation, a pull quotefeed object you implement and attach, or pushed streaming updates — and the sample quote feeds live in a separate repository as examples rather than as a service. Coverage, history depth and what happens during a venue outage are all properties of the feed you build, and choosing that feed is a market data APIs decision.

On sessions, crypto is the easy case. A ChartIQ chart runs 24x7 unless you assign it a market definition with rules, so a perpetuals pair needs no market-hours configuration at all — the elaborate session machinery exists for instruments that close.

Integrations

Web Components for the UI layer, official React components and a React Native package on public npm, and documented iOS and Android paths with webview containers and mobile bridges. Trade From Chart is a UI plug-in that puts order tickets on the price axis; it renders and manages the interaction and leaves the execution to whatever you wire behind it, so it is not order entry on its own.

Installation is not npm in the usual sense. The library arrives as a zip, and the npm route is npm i <full path to archive> against the licensed tarball you were sent.

Limitations

The licence is enforced in code, and the code stops working. A production package is locked by some combination of IP address, domain name, file system and expiry date, and "the library will only function if hosted by a web server on the registered domains". Expiry locks default to one year. Iframe hosting is blocked unless you tell the vendor in advance and they unlock the entitlement. None of this is unusual for the segment, and all of it is a deployment constraint your infrastructure team needs to hear about before they design anything involving a new domain, a preview environment or an embedded widget.

Not every feature is in your copy. The Linton Indicators in 10.5.0 are documented with "contact your Account Manager to learn more or to include [them] with your copy of the library", and the pre-9.0.0 file lists show the plug-ins — Active Trader, ScriptIQ, Term Structures, Time Span Events, Study Calculator — as separately locked artefacts. Reading a feature in the documentation is not evidence that it is in the package you are quoted.

The public npm name is not the library. chartiq@1.0.0 on npm is an installation guide, 638 bytes unpacked, published in November 2023. It installs cleanly and does nothing. A version check does not catch this either, because 1.0.0 looks like a stable release.

Nothing here is crypto-native. No venue model, no funding or open-interest series, no liquidation overlay. The market-depth renderer in Active Trader is the closest thing, and it is a generic depth component. Reference Data is built around earnings, financials, guidance and corporate transactions — equity furniture that a crypto product will never populate.

Researching it is genuinely hard. With the marketing site gone behind a 403 and no published price, a buyer cannot size the purchase, compare it or check a claim without entering a sales process. That is a real cost, and it is the strongest argument for the published-price competitor even where it does less.

Alternatives

Highcharts Stock is the comparison to make first, and it is not close on capability — 43 indicators against 124 studies, no drawing palette of this depth, no end-user scripting language, no depth-of-market component. What it has instead is a price list, a card payment and a licence that is a document rather than a domain lock. TradingView's embeddable library is the other obvious rival for a broker front end. Among the free engines, KLineChart and DXcharts Lite are not substitutes for this at all; they are renderers, and roughly everything listed above is the part you would be writing yourself.

The third proprietary option is DXcharts, the full product behind the free DXcharts Lite — closer to this card in ambition than either free library, and priced the same way this one is, which is to say not in public.

Specs

Interfaces
ScriptIQ
Export
None
Asset classes
Chains
Venues
KYC required
No
Platforms
Library, Ios, Android
AI features
Assistive
Capabilities
Charting
Pricing verified
Capabilities verified

Also worth comparing

  • DXchartsThe paid half of the open core — 100+ indicators, 40+ drawing tools, from $499 a month.
  • Highcharts StockPer-seat commercial charting whose free licence excludes anything you sell.
  • DXcharts LiteThe MPL-2.0 renderer under a broker charting product — candles and axes, no indicators.
  • KLineChartZero-dependency candle engine with no market-hours rules to switch off for 24/7.
  • TradingView Advanced ChartsThe chart engine inside half this market — free with visible attribution, not open source.
  • TradingView Lightweight ChartsApache-2.0 canvas renderer for candles and lines. No indicators, no drawing tools.

On these shelves

Background

How this part of the industry works, rather than which product to pick.

  • A token threshold is not a priceSome tools unlock features by requiring you to hold the vendor's token, not pay it. What that really costs, and why it cannot be compared with a monthly fee.

FAQ

Why does this card link the documentation site rather than chartiq.com?

Because chartiq.com no longer answers. Both chartiq.com and www.chartiq.com return a 301 to an S&P Global Market Intelligence page, and that page returns 403 to anything automated, browser user agent or not. documentation.chartiq.com is the only canonical vendor address that returns 200, and it is the one the vendor keeps current.

Who owns ChartIQ now?

S&P Global. The acquisition was announced on 5 January 2023 — signed 23 December 2022, closed 1 January 2023 — and ChartIQ sits inside S&P Global Market Intelligence. Before that it was part of Cosaic. Financial terms were not disclosed. The product still ships, documents and supports itself as ChartIQ, which is why the vendor field says ChartIQ.

What does ChartIQ cost?

Unpublished. Every route ends at an account manager, and the keyfile shipped with the library records a "Package Type" and a "License type" per customer, so what you are quoted depends on which entitlements you are sold. Budget for a sales cycle rather than a checkout.

Will the library work if I move it to another domain?

Not unless the licence says so. A production package is locked to registered domains, IP addresses or file systems, with an expiry date that defaults to one year, and iframe hosting is blocked by default until the vendor unlocks it. localhost and 127.0.0.1 are always open for development.

Does ChartIQ handle 24/7 crypto markets?

Yes, and it is the default rather than a setting. The documentation states that a chart "will operate 24x7, unless a market definition with rules is assigned to it" — the market-hours machinery exists for instruments that close, so a market that never does needs no configuration.